Finding the Best Yogurt I

Here’s what I wrote in the About page:

Yoplait tastes astringent,  Kemps’ yogurt is grainy and pungent, Activia is too sweet, Oikos has too much pigment…

That being said, deep down in my heart, I still refuse to accept that I can never find a brand of delicious yogurt on the supermarket shelves. For a developed capitalization country like U.S., the existence of this market gap simply doesn’t make sense.

When I was doing grocery shopping today, I decided to experiment with all of the yogurt brands I can find at Safeway. To make it fair, I choose blueberry Greek yogurt from each brand and compared them. The outcome is pretty interesting: it turned out yogurts of different brands can taste very differently.

First, let’s peek into the ingredients of the five brands I’ve experimented:

Name

Stabilizer Flavoring Color Milk
Dannon Activia Greek
  • Modified Corn Starch
  • Pectin
  • Garrageenan
  • Suger
  • Frutcose
  • Sodium Citrate
  • Slumdog Millionaire
  • Frutcose
  • Sodium Citrate
  • Slumdog Millionaire
Blueberry Nonfat
Yoplait Greek
  • Modified Corn Starch
  • Malic Acid
  •  Malic Acid
Blueberries Nonfat
Chobani Greek
  • Locust Bean Gum
  • Pectin
  • Evaporated Cane Juice
  •  Evaporated Cane Juice
Blueberries Nonfat
Lucerne Greek
  • Locust Bean Gum
  • Pectin
  • Modified Corn Starch
  • Citric Acid
  • Calcium Citrate
  • Citric Acid
  • Calcium Citrate
Blueberries
  • Nonfat Milk
  • Milk powder
Noosa
  • Locust Bean Gum
  • Pectin
  • Gelatin
  • Agar
  • Honey
  • Cane Sugar
Blueberries
  • Milk
  • Cream
  • Protein

Consider how easy it is to make your own yogurt, you may freak out about the varieties of the ingredients that were added to the products. But just like what I want to say with my last post, additives aren’t necessarily bad if bing used in the right amount.

Limited by my knowledge structure, I can’t tell witch brand is healthier, but as a senior yogurt lover, I can tell witch one tastes better.

Dannon Activia Greek

IMG_1186

Dannon Activia Greek has a stimulating acid smell. After finishing a bite of it, the sourness hunted in my mouse for a very long time and stimulated my slivar. As you can tell from the picture, it’s extraordinarily thick! Bluberry puree is at the bottom of the cup.

Thickness:☆☆☆☆☆

Sourness:☆☆☆☆☆

Sweetness:☆☆

Astringent Taste:☆☆

Fruit Content:☆☆☆☆

Yoplait Greek

IMG_1188

Yoplait Greek is also very thick, but what impressed me most is the pukery taste of it. Just one bite is enough to make my tongue feeling extremely uncomfortable staying in the mouse.

Thickness:☆☆☆☆

Sourness:☆☆

Sweetness:☆☆

Astringent Taste:☆☆☆☆☆

Fruit Content:☆☆☆☆

Chobani Greek

IMG_1190

Chobani Greek is relatively nice, but not a delicious one.

Thickness:☆☆

Sourness:☆☆☆

Sweetness:☆☆

Astringent Taste:☆☆☆☆

Fruit Content:☆☆☆☆

Lucerne Greek

IMG_1189

Lucerne Greek is the last one I would buy in the future. It barely has any fruit, and the taste of it is really weird. It was so grainy that I feel like I was eating chalks! The smell of it is similar to the concreted grape juice, but not in a delightful way.

Thickness:☆☆☆

Sourness:☆☆☆☆

Sweetness:☆☆☆☆

Astringent Taste:☆☆☆☆☆

Fruit Content:☆

Noosa

IMG_1191Without the second thought, Noosa is the best one among all the five brands. Instead of the pungent juice smell, it has a delicate smell of milk. The texture of it is very smooth. The right amount of sweetness and sourness mixed with the creamy flavor makes it defiantly delightful to eat.

Thickness:☆☆☆

Sourness:☆☆☆

Sweetness:☆☆☆

Astringent Taste:☆

Fruit Content:☆☆☆☆

After tasting all these yogurts, it is interesting to look back and see how ingredients influenced the flavor of each yogurt. Also, I hope it will give you, my reader, a clue of choosing your favorite yogurt!

Leave a Reply

